Mohonk Mountain House

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

Jump to: navigation, search
Mohonk Mountain House, taken from Skytop
Mohonk Mountain House, taken from Skytop

The Mohonk Mountain house is a large resort located atop the Shawangunk Ridge on the shore of Lake Mohonk, a half mile (800 m) long, 60 foot (20 m) deep lake. The main building is a National Historic Landmark structure built by Quaker twin brothers Albert and Alfred Smiley between 1879 and 1910; it has 251 guest rooms, including 28 tower rooms. The property, owned and operated descendants of Albert and Alfred Smiley as it has been since 1869, consists of 2,200 acres (8.9 km²) , much of it beautifully landscaped, and the adjoining 6,400 acres (26 km²) of the Mohonk Preserve, crisscrossed by 85 miles (140 km) of hiking trails and carriage roads.

The Mountain House has had a number of famous visitors over the years, including naturalist John Burroughs, industrialist Andrew Carnegie, American presidents Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, Rutherford B. Hayes and Chester A. Arthur and religious leaders Rabbi Louis Finkelstein, Reverend Ralph W. Sockman and `Abdu'l-Bahá, eldest son of Bahá'í Faith founder Bahá'u'lláh. The hotel hosted the Lake Mohonk Conference on International Arbitration between 1895 and 1916.

External links

Personal tools